Weekend Reading #2: Hit + Manga

Pfft!  I fail at serial blog posts. Because sleeping on the couch is a thing I do after work on Fridays. Which is why I’m writing this on Thursday!

Last weekend saw the completion of Warchild by Karin Lowachee and the bursting of my heart into a thousand tiny, pained pieces. The very thought of reading Burndive, after having loved Warchild and Cagebird, is both exciting and terrifying. I fear that it won’t be as good as the other two. I also fear that it will, which would mean even more future afternoons spent trying to piece my heart back together.

I’ve ordered Burndive rather than getting it from the library since I plan to go ahead and order this entire series, but it probably won’t arrive before the weekend. That’s just as well, since I need a break from the tears. Although, to be perfectly honest, the book I do plan to read isn’t doing much to lift me up on fluffy clouds.

Hit by Delilah S. Dawson came out not too long ago, and I picked up a copy based entirely on how cool Dawson was in this post on Chuck Wendig’s blog. I also purchased her first Blud book after reading that post, but I haven’t gotten to it yet. Because Warchild and, also, freelance art assignments.

I started reading Hit yesterday to get myself nice and involved before the weekend, and…wow…wow?…wow.  This book doesn’t even wait for you to warm up. It just starts throwing punches. By the end of the third chapter I felt good and raw. And for any average person who has debts of any kind, this story is damned well terrifying and will make you think about 1) How fast can you pay back your debt, just in case? 2) Did you read the terms of agreement before you clicked yes or signed your name? 3) What would you be willing to do if it meant having your debts forgiven?

I’m pretty impressed so far, and if the rest of the book is this good, I expect I’ll be making grabby hands at the rest of Dawson’s bibliography. I also might need resuscitation by Sunday. Ugh, the tension. The stress. It’s so good.

And I am shocked that my brain knows how to spell resuscitation considering I never use that word. That’s part of my magical editor’s powers, I guess.

Here we go, weekend! And if I need a break, I might throw in some manga. Though, considering that my choices in manga right now include work from Yana Toboso, CLAMP, and Naoki Urasawa, I’m not so sure they’re going to offer any kind of emotional reprieve.

More like this:

Weekend Reading #1: Cagebird + Master Keaton

~

Leave a Reply

