Holy cats, it’s May!

You guys…I don’t even…what IS time?

So thank you to everyone who visited me during April’s A to Z Blogging in 2015. I hope my utterly random anecdotes from childhood reads were at least slightly interesting at times.

Current updates–I looked at my “read” list over the weekend and realized that, while I’ve read an unusual number of non-fiction books over the last couple of months, I’ve read almost none of my usual go-to genres, which is why the long silence on the blog. I’m presently trying to remedy that, but real life keeps getting in the way.

Of course, you’re probably asking yourself why I can’t just talk about the non-fiction books I’ve read. Well, I suppose I could do that. But my reaction to non-fiction books very frequently comes done to two word sentences like “So awesome!” or “The worst.” And I’ve read a lot of books on topics I already know about, so I’m not learning new things so much as refreshing my memory and trying to motivate myself. But, of course, if anyone is really itching to know what those non-fiction titles have been, I can certainly oblige.

That said, last week I downloaded some mindless romances to read. I know, right? Not my usual cup of tea. But they were fantasy- and science fiction-based romances, so whatevs. The day job has been rough, and I’ve needed to transport myself to other worlds with as little need for mental activity as possible–because, really, reading these books takes no effort whatsoever (except the effort it takes to get through the sappy bits). The plots are utterly predictable and there’s not a lot going on. That said, they were luckily not total tripe, though the last one I read degenerated into the kind of thing you could get from a fanfic. The fact that I even think so probably means I’ve had enough of that stuff and can move onto other, more complicated stories.

And on that note–and since I can’t seem to do a Weekend Reads post to save my life–I’ll go ahead and tell you that I’ve been reading Warchild by Karin Lowachee for the last month.

Iwarchildt’s slow going mostly because I start crying every five pages. This character is so damaged and poorly socialized, I don’t even know what to do with him. Hopefully the second half of the book will be less tearful simply because he’s on a ship now, spying and stuff. No time for wibbly-ness.

But, in all seriousness, it’s very good. I’m really glad that I accidentally fell into reading Cagebird (the third book in the series) earlier in the year, otherwise I would never have gotten into Warchild because of how it starts out (a short chapter in second person pov). I kept going with it, and it turns out that I really like it. Damn you, Karin Lowachee, for being so good at exactly the kinds of things I like. I swear she’s writing what’s in my brain.

That aside, I have a stack of manga to read through in addition to a number of other books, including Hit by Delilah S. Dawson and Dust & Light by Carol Berg (I started that in January–I’m slow this year), among other things. Three Slices by Kevin Hearne, Delilah S. Dawson, and Chuck Wendig just downloaded to my Kindle yesterday, as well, so–oh yeah–it’s gonna be fun. I really wish I didn’t have to go gallivanting around town all weekend so I could sit down for a marathon of reading.

Okay, the end! Sorry for the lack of images. I’m getting to the point where actually posting supersedes my need to prettify my posts.

~

Leave a Reply

