A to Z #20 : T is for The Tao of Pooh

taoofpoohYet another of my high-school reads includes The Tao of Pooh by Benjamin Hoff. Now, I don’t know how well this book actually corresponds to the concepts of Taoism–I’m sorry to say that I haven’t really researched it. But to a teenager who didn’t know what to make of what was happening most of the time, this book made a lot of sense. And since it was delivered in the voice of a beloved childhood character, the message was easily received.

I remember thinking a lot about what I read, but the one thing I remember from this book is the concept that suffering is caused by wanting. That’s an idea I can agree with and something that, as someone with a mild obsessive-compulsive habit, tends to cause me a lot of grief. Because once I find that I want something, it is extremely difficult for me to get it out of my head or to convince myself that I do not, in fact, want it. I will stalk products on websites that I’m convinced I want. For days, until I ultimately buy them at some point. It’s not good times, trust me.

I wonder how this book would hold up for me now after almost fifteen years. I may add it to my growing stack of re-reads (which has only become a thing since participating in this blogging month) and see what I think.

azbadge

~

One response to “A to Z #20 : T is for The Tao of Pooh

Leave a Reply

