A to Z #18: R is for Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead

RosencrantzAndGuildensternAreDead_8410Like most high school students, I read Shakespeare in my English classes. Hamlet was one of the plays chosen for my senior honors curriculum, but it has never been my favorite Shakespearean play. I always preferred MacBeth, Richard III and The Tempest. But we read it and then watched one of the more popular film renditions. And then we watched Rosencrantz and Guildensterm are Dead.

Which I thought was the best thing I’d ever seen in a high school English class.

Oh, I’m sure I missed all of the really deep, legitimate points of the story. But it was engaging, mind-boggling, and hilarious all simultaneously. I purchased the script version of the film (or play…or whatever it was originally) to read through on my own, and I enjoyed that as well.

Having seen it again since high school, I realize that it’s a much darker story than I originally thought. But really, that just makes it better.

azbadge

One response to “A to Z #18: R is for Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead

  1. Stopping by from A to Z Challenge to say hello! Thanks for keeping up with the posts.

    Stephen Tremp
    A to Z Co-host
    R is for Reincarnation

Leave a Reply

