A to Z #15: O is for Out

OutOut by Natsuo Kirino is a book I heard a lot about before actually reading it. Most people couldn’t explain to me why they thought I should read it, and once I finally did, I realized that I couldn’t explain it, either.

For whatever reason, I found this book absolutely captivating. Kirino makes even the mundane something you’ll turn the page for. Of course, I wouldn’t really call the story mundane considering there’s quite a bit of murder and such, but it’s set against the backdrop of a woman’s day-to-day life, so there’s still a lot of her ordinary life to read about.

I don’t know how someone who has absolutely zero interest in or experience with other forms of Japanese literature would feel about this story. It might not move fast enough for them–it’s hard to say. But I thought it was pretty amazing.

azbadge

~

Leave a Reply

