A to Z #13: M is for Michael and the Secret War

michaelsecretwarWithout a doubt, there was a single book that I loved above all others during my middle school years, and that book was Michael and the Secret War by Cassandra Golds.

I borrowed this book from the library from 6th grade through 8th grade, then made my sister check it out for me on my first day of high school when I couldn’t access the middle school library anymore. In total, I read this book four times. That’s absolutely unprecedented for me.

A normal schoolboy comes across the letters SEI written in the sand one day, and from there he gets pulled into a series of strange, fantastical, supernatural battles. Some of them may not seem much like battles, but they most certainly are, because Michael has somehow become part of a war he knows nothing about. In the end, he must make a sacrifice that could result in the loss of his very identity.

My favorite character in this story was definitely Sparrow, the stoic, otherworldly, and somehow sad player in these events. Just thinking about him makes me want to cuddle him, though he totally wasn’t the cuddly type.

Also…cheese sandwiches at midnight. I can get behind it.

This is one of the first books I ever had an extremely emotional reaction to. After twenty years, I wonder if it would have the same effect….

azbadge

2 responses to “A to Z #13: M is for Michael and the Secret War

  1. It is wonderful to have an experience like that with a book. I’m not sure I ever have like something that much. Maybe my favorite is still out there waiting for me to find it.

  2. It’s officially the second half of A to Z. Time to catch that second wind, rest up on Sunday, then it’s that mad dash toward the finish line!

    Stephen Tremp
    A to Z Cohost
    N is for Numerology

Leave a Reply

