A to Z #2: B is for Bimbos of the Death Sun

bimbosofthedeathsun

When I was in high school, my family and I, for some reason, had the fortune to dine one evening with a relatively well-known lawyer and his family. I’m sure this had something to do with the fact that I was in the advanced learning program with his daughter, but I couldn’t tell you how the dinner got arranged. I was in high school, so naturally I didn’t much care about those sorts of details.

All I remember, aside from the man being really tall and very nice, was that he had a lot of books. In fact, I have a fairly good memory of the layout of his living and dining area, but mostly of the somewhat tight hallway that was only tight because it had a row of bookcases along the wall. I was all about that.

Having noticed that I was interested in his bookcases, he questioned me about what I liked to read, and I responded to the best of my ability (though I have no idea what I said). From the shelf of this somewhat well-to-do, elegant man, I was handed a book called Bimbos of the Death Sun by Sharyn McCrumb. “I think you’ll like this,” he told me, and then said I could keep it.

Now, this book had a very unusual pulp-style cover that I knew was going to cause a stir in my high school classrooms, but I was determined to read this book as quickly as possible (even though I had no idea what it was about, and frankly I felt the cover and the title were a little off-putting). I managed to hide the cover of the book during most classes or cover it with a paper cover–whatever worked at any given time. This, incidentally, was not unusual for me. In high school I frequently hid the covers of my books in order to avoid being known as the girl who read Star Trek novels. But that’s another story.

It turns out that Bimbos of the Death Sun is a comedic murder mystery set at a science fiction convention. The name of the book is the name of a story written by one of the characters (the main character? The murder victim? I can’t recall…).

I remember that I laughed. I remember that I enjoyed it. I remember that Harlan Ellison came up a few times in less than loving references. It was a story about conventions before I had ever been to a convention (even though I dreamed about it so very often). Luckily, none of the conventions I did eventually attend ever had anything quite so interesting come up.

From Bimbos of the Death Sun, I really did learn not to judge a book by its cover…or its title, for that matter. Sometimes the presentation of the book isn’t as literal as it seems.

azbadge

~

2 responses to “A to Z #2: B is for Bimbos of the Death Sun

  1. Now I’ll have to check if I can find the “Bimbos” in the local library 😀 sounds like something I’d like to read 😉

Leave a Reply

