What I’ve Been Up To and Other Fun Excuses

Hello, folks.

So I just realized that my “omg so sorry brb” post was made back in February, which was quite some time ago. I thought I’d give you the low down (does anyone ever say low down?) on what I’m up to and why I can’t seem to blog myself out of a paper bag, never mind actually post a review or something. Because, wow, wouldn’t that be a novel concept? Novel–see what I did there?

Fine, I’ll stop.

So, the good news is that the art project has ended, and it went over very well with my client. Yay, art! This, of course, has gotten me back into the habit of sketching and, yeah, you wouldn’t believe how that can take up so much time that I would normally use for reading. Because, it does, and how.

But that’s okay, because it has reminded me how much I love art, and how much my writing and art are part of the same creative bubble that I live in. I’m hoping the one will feed the other (just as soon as I stop being a slow-ass about everything). It has also reminded me that my portfolio needs to be revamped and put back online, because freelance work–that’s a thing I need and can get behind.

But, hey, that’s even more time that I somehow have to come up with, because nothing takes time like scanning in a bunch of artwork and posting it to the internets. Building websites is not my favorite thing in the world to do, but they’re always so nice once they’re up and running. More on that as I get further along with it–assuming you’re interested, of course.

Reading, on the other hand, has been slow, slow, slow. Frankly, my head isn’t even in it unless it’s an art-related book, of which I have managed to read many. But all of the novels and manga and things I normally read? They’re all sitting here on the table waiting for me to get with the program.

But, fun fact–not only have I been keeping the usual text list of the books I’ve read this year (few as they’ve been), but I’ve also been sketching them. So when I finally get around to telling you all about the books I’ve read over the last couple of months, I’ll come prepared with original artwork. I think the monthly recap posts that I’ve missed are just going to get nixed in favor of doing an overall big post in which I’ll do short reviews. Because that seems like the best decision at this point.

What am I currently reading? Well, I’ve had World of Trouble by Ben H. Winters checked out from the library since, oh, January? I’m only on chapter 4 or so, and the story hasn’t gone anywhere just yet. No big surprise there. I’m sure things will happen.

I’ve also had Warchild checked out for about the same amount of time, but I haven’t started that one.

Recently completed books are The Miracle of Morning Pages by Julia Cameron, author of The Artist’s Way. It was a fairly useless ebook to be honest. I had hoped to get a little bit of elaboration on morning pages (which is the first thing you learn about in The Artist’s Way), but the ebook didn’t tell me anything I didn’t already know. See ya, $2.99 that could have been put toward funnel fries….

I also finished listening to the audiobook of The Troop by Nick Cutter.

Well…how to put this. I don’t often have strong reactions to specific things in books, like language, explicit descriptions or graphic depictions, or what have you. I’m fairly laid back about everything. But this book–I can’t describe exactly how much I didn’t like it. Everything about it was gross–utterly disgusting. The characters were pretty vile across the board, which is saying something since the majority of them were young boys. Just…ugh…. This book should have been subtitled “how to be a disgusting asshole who’s also cruel to animals.” There was just so much about this book that I didn’t enjoy that getting into the horror story part of it was just impossible. There are entire swaths of story that I don’t even remember simply because I was so tuned out that, when I finally heard what was going on, people were dead and I didn’t even know how they’d died.

So needless to say, I’m glad The Troop is over. I had purchased the audiobook thanks to a recommendation on another blog, but I’m fairly certain I won’t be reading more from this author for the time being.

Beyond that, I’m a mess of art books, but I’ll try to get something else read here soon. Or else post about the art books, I suppose.

Oh, and that great big decluttering effort I was working on? Almost there, but not quite done. I’ve still got quite a bit of stuff to sort and store, but I’ll get to it when I get to it. At least all of my out-of-date papers and receipts are officially shredded. Now if I can finish going through my kitchen stuff so I can make a big donation to a local charity, I’d be that much closer to the end.

And that’s where things stand. Sorry for moving so slowly on the reviews and stuff. I’ll just avoid making any promises that I can’t keep.

Except for the part where I tell you I’m planning to participate in A to Z blogging next month. For the entire month of April, except Sundays, I’ll be blogging alphabetically, from the letter A to the letter Z. As you can imagine, the theme will be books. Any books, I suppose, as long as I have something to say about them.

And that’s all for now! See you on Wednesday when we start with “A”. Now I have to get ready to watch Once Upon a Time (even though the show has become a travesty), and also the season finale of The Walking Dead. Because, yes.

~

Leave a Reply

