Weekend Reading #1: Cagebird + Master Keaton

Over the New Year’s weekend, I decided that I would definitely take the opportunity to finish at least one book. This weekend’s choices are Cagebird by Karin Lowachee, the third book in her Warchild series (currently a trilogy, but who knows if that will ever change) and the first volume of Master Keaton by Naoki Urasawa. I admit to not having read the first two books in Lowachee’s series. I do own Warchild but failed to read it last year when I couldn’t quite get into the style of writing. That said, I’m rather in love with Cagebird. Since I didn’t know it was part of the series when I began, I’ll have to go back to the beginning and read the first two. Since some of the main characters overlap, they’ll have twice the dramatic irony that they might have had if I’d read them in order. Master Keaton, while a manga, is an enormous book. It’s entirely possible that I won’t get both of them done this weekend. Then again, if I put my mind to it for about two hours, it might just happen. I’ll have to try not to sleep in so late on Sunday. What are you reading this weekend? ~

Leave a Reply

