Write More! Writing Log #2

Welcome to the writing log, in which I tell you how my writing progressed or didn’t during the previous day. (Character names and other details will be mentioned judiciously to protect what I’m working on, obviously.)

writemore_banner2 Dec 2014

Word count: 0 in fiction / 572 in blog posts

Writing summary: First writing log finished. Check!

Thoughts: There’s nothing quite like making a big plan to write in the evening, then sitting down on the couch to read for thirty minutes only to fall dead asleep within two paragraphs. Granted, I didn’t get enough sleep Monday night because I stayed up late to write, but that doesn’t make me feel all that better about losing an entire night. I didn’t wake up again until 11:30pm, and I was still exhausted, so I just went on to bed.

That said, I was happy to get my first writing log done, and blog posts do require writing, so while it’s not fiction, it’s still progress. I realized a long time ago that any form of writing would make me want to write more. When I was writing reviews for the blog, I was almost always writing fiction in my spare time as well, and vice versa. Of course, back then, my schedule wasn’t quite so regimented, and I could get a lot more done during the daytime hours. But that doesn’t make the correlation any less relevant.

I’d like to get some kind of book-related feature going that I can write every week for the blog. But so far, I’m struggling to figure out what that is. I’ve come up with a lot of ideas, but I don’t consider any of them something that I can consistently write new content for without eventually running out of things to say.

For instance, a favorite books feature would eventually peter out because the number of book on my favorites list is limited. I’d have to expand it in some fashion so that it could be a continual thing.

Well, I’ll give it some more thought, and if anyone has any ideas for book-related topics they’d like to see me address, leave a comment or shoot me an email.

More like this:

Write More! Writing Log #1

~

Leave a Reply

