Write More! Writing Log #1

Welcome to the writing log, in which I tell you how my writing progressed or didn’t during the previous day. (Character names and other details will be mentioned judiciously to protect what I’m working on, obviously.)

writemore_banner1 Dec 2014

Word count: 1208 in fiction / 353 in blog posts

Writing summary: The main character in the story I worked on is a bad, bad man. But I’ve always known that, and he’s obviously very aware of just how manipulative he can be. Meanwhile, his co-star is about to tell a long story instead of getting to the next town, which is not where I initially wanted this to go, but that’s okay. First draft.

Also, wrote up yesterday’s blog post on how I didn’t actually end up doing NaNoWriMo for very long, but I’m going to be working on this log from here on out.

Thoughts: As I have been doing for the last month, I sat down today around 6pm with the intention of writing but didn’t actually get started until about 10:30pm. Ignoring the fact that I waited forty minutes for World of Warcraft to queue me into a dungeon so I could get exalted with Gnomeregan, I attribute the length of time between sitting and writing on trying to convince myself to start chapter 10 of Bluvale (the novel-length piece that I spent this past November trying to restart) even though thinking about it made me tired.

It turns out that Bluvale simply wasn’t what I wanted to work on, and once I let myself open the story that I was interested in adding to, everything went just fine. And by just fine, I mean I struggled with the first three paragraphs for about thirty minutes and, just as I was going to let it go and head for bed, everything started pouring out so fast that I didn’t want to stop. Sometime around midnight, I actually forced myself to step away, even though I desperately wanted to keep going, simply because I can’t stay up past 12am and still show up for work the next morning with anything resembling the necessary consciousness needed to edit books, answer emails and write contracts for eight hours.

The story I ended up working on is in a completely different universe from Bluvale. The main character of that universe hasn’t been speaking to me for the past few years–most likely put out by how I’ve been ignoring him–but this week it’s felt like he’s been jealous of my attention to Bluvale. Everytime I start daydreaming about my fiction, he’s the one who shows up. As bratty as he is, it surprises me not at all that he would want to shove my Bluvale protagonist out of the limelight. I expect they’re having a cat fight somewhere in the ether between worlds at this very moment (if I were still into writing comedy pieces, I’d punch that out in a heartbeat).

Honestly, I’m happy to have something else that my brain is working on in the background, even if it has nothing to do with Bluvale or the larger story arc in that universe. Maybe it’s a good thing that the one story is inspiring the other to some degree. As long as I’m writing, it will push me to keep writing, which is the only way to things get done. And damnit, I’m going to get it done.

~

Leave a Reply

