NaNoWriMo 2014: The End

nanowrimo_banner

By now it will have become obvious that I didn’t log anymore of my NaNoWriMo days on the site. There’s a good reason for that, and it’s not that I was too lazy to do so.

No, it’s the obvious answer. I ended up not continuing with NaNoWriMo after about day eight, partly because of that computer glitch I had (which just annoyed the pants off of me), and partly because I was so completely stuck in this one chapter that I was frequently on the verge of throwing my laptop down a flight of stairs. I chose not to do that, however, because then I would have been unable to play Warlords of Draenor.

In the end, I’m not upset for having ceased my NaNoWriMo efforts. The point of starting it in the first place was to get me moving on my novel, and to get me out of the chapter that had been strangling my creativity. I successfully did both of those things. I’m now about to start chapter 10 (I started in chapter 8), my outline is longer, and my writing juices are flowing. That’s all I wanted, and that’s what I got, so as far as I’m concerned, NaNoWriMo was successful for me, even if I didn’t meet the word count.

That said, I’m going to start my own daily writing habit again. I can’t even remember, at this point, when I fell out of it, but the more I write, the more writing I want to do. So there you are.

I’ll try logging my regular writing habit instead, which will no doubt yield some amusing moments. Guess I’ll need a non-NaNoWriMo banner for that. I’ll probably scrawl something silly with my Wacom tablet.

For those of you who are also working on fictional stories and are in need of some epic music, may I recommend Phenomena by Audiomachine. My top songs on this album are Blood and Stone, Ice of Phoenix, Legends of Destiny, Lords of Lankhmar, Above and Beyond, and Journey Through the Portal.

Though I’m listening to Drakon’s Empire right now and kinda digging it.

(Note: There’s supposed to be an image of the Phenomena cover here, but for some reason none of my Amazon linked images are showing up in any of my posts. Guess I’ll have to go back making my own.)

~

Leave a Reply

