Upcoming from Haikasoru!

What is it with all of the excellent new releases this year? It’s like I’m surrounded by choruses of happy fairies singing about rainbows and cotton candy.

Except by fairies, I mean ghosts, and by rainbows I mean . . . well, who knows what I mean. Ghost stories come in so many varieties. . . .

The point of all this is to let you in on the fact–in case you didn’t know–that Haikasoru will be releasing a new anthology this autumn entitled Phantasm Japan.

For those of you not in the know, Haikasoru is one of my favorite imprints (courtesy of Viz Media), specializing in Japanese dark fantasy, science fiction and horror. I can’t even describe just how far down my alley this concept is. Haikasoru is responsible for translating titles like All You Need is Kill, Zoo, Mardock Scramble and Battle Royale into English (I wanted to list Summer, Fireworks and My Corpse somewhere, but there were just so many commas). Seriously, I don’t know what I’d do without these folks.

To see which stories will be featured in the anthology, check out the recent post about the table of contents. I think this list looks fantastic, and I’m excited to see a story by Miyuki Miyabe since I recently finished Apparitions: Ghosts of old Edo.

This fall is going to be great!

Incidentally, I’ve read (and enjoyed) all of the books I mentioned above except for Mardock Scramble, which I’m dying to get my hands on. Soon, I tell you! Soon.

I’ll update this post later when the cover is posted. As of right now, I don’t see it up on Amazon or on the Haikasoru website.

~

 

Leave a Reply

