Sci-Fi Month Intro Post!

scifipostheader

Hello all! For the first post in November Sci-Fi Month, we bloggers have been asked to talk about how we got into science fiction and what we like most in and about the genre. Well…here goes!

1. Tell us a little about yourself.

I’m an editor by day and a reader by night. I’m a hopeless SF/F geek and always have been. I own more books than I should, which becomes more and more apparent every time I have to move. I have two cats and an assortment of plants that I can barely keep alive (that is, the plants, not the cats). I have a serious crafting habit, which is hard to miss considering there’s yarn and fabric strewn about my apartment (and thread all over my clothes). In addition to SF/F, I like manga and anime. I love red bean ice cream, hate celery, and have a stationery collection that’s growing faster than I can write letters. I marathon TV shows on Netflix like everyone else. Thanks to that, I just got into Supernatural (even though I’m about eight years late) and might have a great big crush on the character Castiel….

2. How long have you been a fan of sci-fi?

There is, literally, no time in my life that I can recall when I wasn’t into sci-fi. My dad introduced me to Star Trek at a young age (we’ll say six and stick with that, since it’s close enough), and there used to be reruns playing on television after school every day, which I watched without fail. I read mostly Star Trek novels until middle school, when I discovered Orson Scott Card’s Homecoming Saga, followed by Ender’s Game. I also watched the original Star Wars trilogy every Christmas on USA until they stopped playing it.

3. Why do you like sci-fi and what is your favorite thing about it?

Is “because it’s awesome” a legitimate answer? No?

I like sci-fi because it breaks through the restraints of ordinary life and takes you somewhere else. Because the authors imagine these incredible worlds and characters and concepts, and they make you believe in them. I like it because you can talk about relationships and controversies and situations in ways that make you think about them differently. Because you can be introduced to so many new ideas (or even old ideas), and the more you read about them, the more you think: Wow. Just wow.

4. What are your favorite books/games/films/TV shows etc in the genre?

Geez, this question is begging for a really long list. But I’ll narrow it down.

Some of my favorite books include Ender’s Game, Chasm City, 1984, Alas, Babylon, Revelation Space, Saga, and Catspaw.

Some of my favorite films include Stargate, Alien, Dredd, Pitch Black, Resident Evil, John Carter, Star Wars, The Returner, The Matrix, and Aeon Flux (this list has been shortened a lot. I like loads of other sci-fi movies).

Some of my favorite TV shows include Star Trek, Firefly, Babylon 5, X-Files, Millennium, Doctor Who, Space Above and Beyond, Battlestar Galactica, and Person of Interest (not sci-fi, strictly speaking, but the artificial intelligence aspect of it is pretty SF).

The last sci-fi game I remember playing was The Daedelus Project, but that was a long, long time ago. My current favorite games aren’t SF related, but I’m happy to take suggestions if there are any great PS3 sci-fi games.

Oh, hey…and does anyone remember The Visitor or VR.5? Or Prey? I liked those shows, but they were…you know…cancelled.

5. What do you have planned for Sci-Fi Month?

For Sci-Fi Month, I’ll be posting several reviews. These include The Left Hand of Darkness, Saga, Cat’s Cradle and All You Need is Kill. You can expect them every Monday of the month. If anyone has requests for anything else, I’m happy to oblige, but it won’t be on the official schedule.

And that’s it, guys! An overview of my sci-fi life. Believe me when I say it barely scratches the surface.

8 responses to “Sci-Fi Month Intro Post!

  1. Ah, I didn’t realise you were an editor =D Just a little bit jealous there! And it’s nice to find another Supernatural fan, I’ve also recently gotten into it but am not quite as far as you (series four, but finally I get to meet Cas).

    I would accept ‘because it’s awesome’ as a legitimate answer, because it’s true. But you know, your other answer was fine too 😉

    As for games – Mass Effect, Mass Effect, and maybe Mass Effect?! Oh my gosh it is AMAZING and the story is just… ❤ I fangirl over it like crazy.

    Looking forward to your reviews! =D

    • Mass Effect, eh? I’ll have to try it out! I think the only other thing I’ve ever played (or started to play) was Portal–but I didn’t get very far.

      Yay, Supernatural, FTW. I just got caught up to the current season on Saturaday, so…feel free to chat about it with me as a fellow late watcher. 🙂

  2. I agree with Rinn, “because it’s awesome” definitely counts as a good enough reason! I’m really looking forward to your review of All You Need Is Kill, that sounds interesting.

  3. How am I just now finding your blog? Sounds like we read and enjoy some of the same stuff – space opera, Star Wars, Kurt Vonnegut, and that we’ve been reading this stuff for a while.

    VR5 – was that the show where the woman went into a virtual reality/cgi space to confront criminals or solve crimes or something? I vaguely remember really liking that show, and then of course, it was gone. not fair.

    • Oh heavens, yes! Been reading it forever.

      Indeed! That was VR.5. I remember being really into it as a kid. It might not hold up nowadays, but I’d like to see it one more time, just to know for sure. I think it aired on FOX, which would explain why it was cancelled after its first season….

  4. Pingback: The Left Hand of Darkness – Review | Blue Fox Fables·

  5. Pingback: Announcement: Sci-Fi Month Schedule |Rinn Reads·

Leave a Reply

