A fond farewell…sort of….

For a while now, I’ve been considering the idea of shutting down The Reader Eclectic. The fact of the matter is, I do an awful lot these days, and very little of it is applicable to TRE. I still read, but I’ve reached the point where I simply want to read for pleasure. I don’t want the added obligation of having to write a review afterward. And while I still enjoy discussing the books that I read, I’m no longer up to reading large numbers of books as quickly as possible. For a little while, I had a few guest reviewers, leaving me to work only in a managerial and editorial capacity. But those reviewers are now gone, leaving everything up to me once again.

What finally tipped the scales was reading, yesterday, that Calico Reaction was planning to close down. I’ve been reading that blog for quite a long time, and I was always impressed by the choice of books and the depth of the reviews. And while reading the closing post, I found myself agreeing with a lot of the reasons for saying goodbye.

That said, I don’t want to stop blogging altogether. In addition to the occasional book review, there are a number of other things that I’d like to talk about–things that would probably be accompanied but a lot more photos. The idea I have is a more general sort of blog that targets more than one of my interests.

I know that’s not how people suggest you start a blog. They always say to figure out your niche and focus on one thing. Well, if I did that, I’d end up with six blogs instead of one, and that’s not something I’m prepared to handle.

Ideally, I’d like to archive the items from TRE wherever I end up. That way, I can still reference my previous reviews, my guest reviewers will still have access to theirs, and not everything will disappear into the ether. The question is whether to keep the name The Reader Eclectic and simply expand it or to choose another.

I tend toward choosing another simply because this one implies books as an exclusive topic. But we’ll see, and I’ll leave a post here with a forwarding address if I choose to begin something entirely new.

I’ve loved this experience, and I’ve loved sharing my book habit with others. I’ve had a book site in some form since 1999, first as SpaceDragon Reviews, and then as The Reader Eclectic. As I said, I don’t intend to stop reviewing entirely, but I don’t think it will continue to be in this particular form on this particular blog.

And, so, a fond farewell. More or less….

~

Leave a Reply

