Not Dead, Just Lightly Incapacitated

Ordinarily I wouldn’t waste time begging forgiveness over a dry spell on the blog when I could be writing up some late-ish reviews and posting them. I consider the latter a far more useful activity than wah-wah-ing and making excuses about where I’ve been, especially since I’ve never claimed any sort of regular schedule to begin with (although I do like to try keeping up a tentative one).

However, considering I have a larger than usual number of review requests at present, and since the people who made them are probably wondering where on earth I’ve gone, I thought I should at least acknowledge my recent absence from the blog scene with the online equivalent of a “Be back shortly” Post-it note. Besides, I rather miss exchanging comments with my other blogger buddies, particularly CSI: Librarian, and I don’t want them to think I’ve forgotten about them.

In any case, between being sick part of the summer and overwhelmed with projects during this more recent half of the season, my reading has been held up rather unexpectedly. I did not foresee this–particularly the onslaught of project work that took up nights and weekends–and I’m a little annoyed about it, honestly, since I got far less reading done than I initially anticipated for June and July.

Actually, do see what I did there? I’ve somehow managed to skip August altogether, because it is, in fact, September right now, and I can’t remember what happened last month at all . . . . Although, if you’ve been paying attention, you’ll notice that this same thing happens every summer. In fact, now that I have just noticed it, perhaps I can do something about it for next year.

In any case, I do hope to get back on track in the extremely near future. And I do have two reviews-in-progress that will be up this week if everything goes to plan. So, you can expect the following reviews sooner rather than later:

Catching Fire & Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins (a combo review!)
The Falling Machine by Andrew P. Mayer

And, books I’m presently reading that you should be expecting reviews for in the reasonably near future are

Captain Nemo by Kevin J. Anderson
Mumbo Jumbo Circus by Jane George
Lake Charles by Ed Lynskey

To the above list, you can add Riftwalker by Susan and Clay Griffith just as soon as I can order a copy. Since my local Borders closed, I’ve had to preorder everything I expect to buy rather than going to the store (not that my local Borders was ever in the habit of getting new Pyr titles on time), and for some reason the release date is incorrect in my electronic calendar. Which is, of course, the trouble with electronic calendars–they do like to shift your stuff around, especially since mine’s on a smart phone, and they act up at random just for the fun of it. But that being the case, I didn’t budget for any purchases this week, which means it’ll have to wait just a bit.

But not to worry, Riftwalker will get read and reviewed one way or the other. After all, I liked The Greyfriar immensely, and I don’t think I could put off reading the follow up for very long.

The good news, of course, is that the weather is cooling off here in stuffy old Florida, which means all of my activities–especially reading and writing–will likely see an upswing. It’s so much easier to be quick about things when you’re not struggling to breathe in heat and humidity thicker than . . . well, I don’t know what, but you see where I’m going with that.

~

Leave a Reply

