Book Blogger Hop #17 (7/15-7/18)

Welcome to this week’s Book Blogger Hop!

For anyone new who’s interested, you can click the image below to check out the source of the BBH.

Book Blogger Hop

This week’s question is

“How/Where do you get your books? Do you buy them or go to the library? Is there a certain website you use like Paperbackswap?”

Generally speaking, I buy my books. I usually get them from the regular bookstore, but sometimes I buy from online retailers if my local stores have decided not to stock the titles I want. I also buy from used bookstores now and again. These are typically impulse buys, though. I rarely go there looking for something specific.

I don’t get things from the library very often, though sometimes I do–my local library frequently has books I want in stock, which is a shocker for me. I got out of the library habit because my old library never carried the books I wanted to read. But there’s another reason I don’t borrow books, and that’s because it usually takes me a long time to get to them, and borrowed books are on a time limit. A lot of times I won’t get to my library books within the assigned couple of weeks, even if I recheck them, so what’s the point of having them on my table for weeks and weeks when someone else could be checking them out? If I buy them, then they can stay there as long as they like, and I don’t have to give them back. Ha!

One thing about my local library, though, is that they carry a lot of manga. And let me tell you, that’s awesome. Some of the series I’ve wanted to read are already up to volume twenty or more, and there is simply no way for me to buy them without putting myself into serious financial debt (because, if I could, I really would buy them). Also, it gives me a way to sample some shorter series before deciding to buy, so there’s that as well.

As for websites like Paperbackswap, I sometimes use Book Mooch, but I haven’t recently.

~

7 responses to “Book Blogger Hop #17 (7/15-7/18)

  1. Great answer and I totally have the opposite problem! I always read library books first and then my poor purchased books languish in some sort of reading limbo. But there there is something to be said for reading a book you own and never have to give back. It’s been one of the better parts of getting ARCs or review copies. 🙂

    And I know what you mean about the way library collections can be really surprising in terms of what they have to offer. Before I worked at a library, it did shock me to discover that so many of the books I wanted were already at or being ordered by the library in my town.

  2. I think it’s great that your library has a great manga section, especially for some of those really long series. 🙂

  3. If I ask my library to get something,they try to. Perhaps you could try asking them. And the time limit is sometimes a problem. I get mine for three weeks. What about you? By cleverly renewing them, I can keep them for upto three months….
    And on a completely different note, Otomen is upto 11 ALREADY? I’m so behind…
    Nina @ Death Books and Tea

  4. @Nina @ Death Books and Tea

    Hi Nina! Thanks for coming by.

    I don’t remember precisely how long our loan period is. I think it’s three weeks to start, and then only one or two weeks for each renew. And you can only renew twice online, and that’s assuming someone else hasn’t put a hold on it, so it’s a bit tricky. =D I suppose whether or not I read it right away is an indication of just how badly I wanted to in the first place.

    I know what you mean about Otomen! It’s such a great series, though, I can’t help but keep up with it.

Leave a Reply

