On My Wishlist (#8)

Welcome to another On My Wishlist, a weekly event hosted by Book Chick City where participants list books they want but haven’t yet purchased, whether they be old, new, or upcoming.

It’s been a while since I’ve done a wishlist, which is a surprise to me, since my list of books is never particularly short. But all of the books from my last wishlist post have either come out already or will be arriving shortly, so it’s time for a new one.

This list is dedicated entirely to titles put out by Prime Books–a publisher with which I’m only recently getting acquainted. I found myself on their website because they’re releasing titles by Sarah Monette this year, and a quick browse of their catalogue indicates that I might want to try a couple of their other authors.

For this list we have the following books:

The Alchemy of Stone by Ekaterina Sedia
I don’t read a lot of books about robots. I suppose they’ve never really interested me. Yet, when I skimmed the description of this novel, I knew I wanted to read it as soon as I could get my hands on it. I suppose my tastes change daily. The Alchemy of Stone has been out for quite a while, but it’s on the top of my list of things to order when I get the chance.

Mechanique by Genevieve Valentine
I actually saw Mechanique at the bookstore before I discovered it was put out by Prime. The concept of a mechanical circus is incredibly intriguing, especially since I’ve been reading more than one story, lately, that involves a circus at some point. Of course, those circuses are usually nefarious in some way, and I don’t think that’s the case in Mechanique, but I suppose we’ll find out as soon I pick this one up!

Heart of Iron by Ekaterina Sedia
This was the first Ekaterina Sedia book that I noticed, and I’m incredibly excited to read it. It has Russia, China, trains, and the British Secret Service during the mid-1800s. I love it already! Plus, I noticed something about the Prime Books blurbs for this book and the two above: nowhere in the descriptions does it say the word “steampunk.” Sure, the quotes and such from different blogs and magazines use that word, but the website copy never does. I have to admit, I appreciate that. I’m actually a bit tired of everything that involves mechanical or steam-based anything being labeled steampunk in the hopes that it might be a selling point. Might it be? Sure it might. But for me that word is becoming less of a reason to read something and more of a reason to avoid it–call me overexposed, I guess.

The Bone Key by Sarah Monette
Ah, yes, here’s the reason I visited the Prime Books website. Sarah Monette’s collection of Kyle Murchison Booth stories is being reprinted with a new introduction. Do I already own the original version of this book? I do. Am I likely to pick up the reprint edition? I am. I can hardly do anything else, since this is one of the few short story collections that I actually enjoy. And Booth is delightfully strange and awkward. I’m more than happy to read about him again.

Somewhere Beneath Those Waves by Sarah Monette
And this is yet another Sarah Monette title put out by Prime this year. Considering we’ve got these two books plus The Tempering of Men coming out from Tor in August, I feel downright spoiled! On top of that, Somewhere Beneath Those Waves comes out in November, which is my birthday month, so I’ll be happily reading these short stories while having cake and celebrating.

~

2 responses to “On My Wishlist (#8)

  1. Ooo very cool picks. Alot of these are my TBR list already but I think I might have to add Somewhere Beneath Those Waves to that as well. 🙂

  2. @April

    Yes! I’ve read of couple of the short stories from that collection before, but it’ll be nice to have them in all in one volume along with some new stuff. 🙂

Leave a Reply

