Book Blogger Hop #16 (7/1-7/4)

Welcome to this week’s Book Blogger Hop!

For anyone new who’s interested, you can click the image below to check out the source of the BBH.

Book Blogger Hop

This week’s question is

“What keeps you reading beyond the first few pages of a book, and what makes you want to stop reading a book and put it back on the shelf?”

There are a lot of things that will keep me reading past the first few pages: great writing, memorable characters, visual passages, or something unexpectedly cool (what falls into this last category can change at any time). Usually, it’s a combination of more than one of these things. But, to be honest, I’m not the kind of reader who stops reading a book, especially since I usually intend to review it when I’m finished.

That said, I’ve really slogged through some rough reads in the past. In fact, the one I’m reading now is a bit tiring because I feel bored with the narrative and the main character. There’s nothing there to really catch my attention, and I would put it down and try something else based on those factors, but I want to finish it for two reasons: it’s been on my shelf for five years, and it’s part of a–well, not a series, but a collection of books with recurring characters.

But the number one thing that makes me want to put a book down? Crap writing. When everything in my English editing major body starts screaming oh, God, make it stop, that’s a clear indication that I want to drop that book like a hot potato. Nine times out of ten–especially if the book is part of a review I’ve agreed to do–I don’t put it down. I might start skimming, but I still read it. If it’s not? That book is going out the door. Bad writing is one way to really annoy me.

The second thing that will make me want to put it down is bad dialogue and bad or cliché phrases. This sort of relates back to the crap writing, though, so maybe it doesn’t deserve it’s own number.

And finally, the third thing is when story is straight up dull. If you’re boring me to death, then you’re doing it wrong.

~

One response to “Book Blogger Hop #16 (7/1-7/4)

Leave a Reply

