On My Wishlist (#7)

Welcome to another On My Wishlist, a weekly event hosted by Book Chick City where participants list books they want but haven’t yet purchased, whether they be old, new, or upcoming.

Despite what I said during the Book Blogger Hop a week ago, it seems that I DO have several books on my summer wishlist.

Hexed by Kevin Hearne & Hammered by Kevin Hearne
I recently finished Hearne’s first book, Hounded and I must say I’m really excited to continue the series. Hounded was delightfully fun, and from the excerpt I read of the second book I think it’s going to be equally enjoyable. Hearne’s publishing schedule for this series is a book a month, which means Hexed will be out in June, and Hammered will be out in July. That works for me! I’m more than eager to get to them.

Naked City: Tales of Urban Fantasy edited by Ellen Datlow
My main reason for picking up this book is to read Ellen Kushner’s new Riverside story, but there are several good authors contributing to this collection, and I’m looking forward to reading their stories as well. I haven’t quite caught up with Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files, but I’m going to love reading more about Harry. Also, I’ve never read anything by Patricia Briggs, but I’ve recently received a good recommendation from someone with very particular tastes, so reading something of hers in the short form will give me a taste of what I might expect from her longer works. Overall, it will likely be a very good anthology and a good way to pass a few days in July.

A Dance of Dragons by George R. R. Martin
Of course, come July I’ll have something rather a bit longer to read as well. I worried that I wouldn’t be able to remember a lot of the previous story from the Song of Ice and Fire series, but after watching the first three episodes of the HBO adaptation, I find that I recall a lot more than I thought I did. It’ll be good to see what comes next in this series.

~

Leave a Reply

