Book Blogger Hop #9 (4/15-4/18)

Welcome to this week’s Book Blogger Hop!

For anyone new who’s interested, you can click the image below to check out the source of the BBH.

Book Blogger Hop

This week’s question is

“Pick a character from a book you are currently reading
or have just finished and tell us about him/her.”

What an excellent question since one of the books I’m currently reading is Resurrection Code by Lyda Morehouse. As it happens, Morehouse’s AngeLINK series is the source of one of my favorite characters–Morningstar. There are ten dozen reasons why I like him so much, not least of which is that he’s, well, Lucifer (yes that Lucifer). He’s also redheaded, has owned a bookstore and a brothel (though not at the same time, apparently), and is morally ambiguous, not to mention devious, in all my favorite ways. But what really makes him stand out to me is the way his emotions are portrayed. He longs so much to return to Heaven, and his love for his creator has not lessened, but he still harbors frustration and anger at the same time. He’s also unwilling to change who he is in order to fit the mold of the perfect angel. His interactions with the archangel Michael, especially in Resurrection Code, are the perfect example. He loves his brother enough to volunteer to do the dirty work of killing for him (to spare Michael the guilt of doing it himself), yet when he begins to feel that the task is wrong, he doesn’t mind doing it half-heartedly or even fighting against an angelic army to prevent someone else from going through with it.

I really do love this character. I’m sure I’ll say as much again in the upcoming review.

You know, once upon a time, I did fanart of Morningstar. I should do another, better one just for fun.

~

2 responses to “Book Blogger Hop #9 (4/15-4/18)

  1. I wish you would! (Commit fan art, that is.) You know I’d proudly link to it or post it on my site.

    Morningstar is one of my favorites too. (I supppse that’s sort of a Duh, huh? 🙂

    I actually originally conceived a version of Resurrection Code that focused solely on Mouse, and then I realized I just couldn’t write a book without Morningstar in it –or other angels, for that matter.

  2. @Lyda Morehouse

    In that case, I shall! The timing couldn’t be better, really. I have one or two semi-free weeks coming up, and drawing will be a nice way to punctuate my reading time. 🙂

    Yes, I was actually surprised (and absolutely elated) when Morningstar had a POV in Resurrection Code. I can envision what the book might have been like if it had just been Mouse, but getting to read about the other characters again, as well, was really fantastic.

Leave a Reply

