On My Wishlist (#4)

Welcome to another On My Wishlist, a weekly event hosted by Book Chick City where participants list books they want but haven’t yet purchased, whether they be old, new, or upcoming.

This past week I was able to pick up Black Butler volumes one and two from my previous list. Now I only need two more books before the fifth one comes out in April.

This week, the books on my list include

City of Ghosts by Stacia Kane
I read the first book in the Downside Ghosts series last year and really loved it. It’s probably the first urban fantasy I’ve gotten into, and that’s due entirely, I think, to Chess Putnam being the main character. She’s wonderfully flawed and fun to read about. (Unfortunately, my copy of Unholy Ghosts got mangled by my sister’s fiance’s dog. Which is to say, it’s still readable–the dog didn’t eat the pages–but the back cover is largely nonexistent. Alas….) City of Ghosts is the third book in the series and I want to get it before reading Unholy Magic (the second). I know I’ll want to read both books back to back, especially if I go through them as quickly as I did the first one

The Last Sherlock Holmes Story by Michael Dibdin
This book was recommended to me by a friend in the UK. We’re both Sherlock Holmes fans and book lovers, so we began discussing some of our favorite stories and pastiches. I don’t remember the specific reasons for why she recommended this title to me, but she did assure me that I would enjoy it. Since she has pretty good taste in books, I’m willing to trust her judgement and give Dibdin’s book a try. They even have it at my local store (or they did the last time I checked), so it’s only a matter of time before it ends up on my shelf.

Pump Six and Other Stories by Paolo Bacigalupi
I almost bought this book last December, but I decided to wait for a while. I want to read Bacigalupi’s work—I’ve heard good things but I haven’t bought one of his novels yet—and I thought this might be a good place to start. The problem, however, is that I don’t really enjoy short stories. I find them too abstract, too thematic, and too hard to get through. Five pages feels like an eternity, and at the end I either don’t get it or I just don’t care. Well, that’s not the experience I want to have with Bacigalupi, but…his collection just looks so interesting. I want to read it at some point, but I may wait until after I’ve read one of his longer works. If I like his style, I’ll read the short stories for sure, but it may not work out the same way if I start with the collection.

Natsume’s Book of Friends, vol. 6 by Yuki Midorikawa
Originally, I was going to put Honey Hunt volume seven here, but there’s currently no release date and no cover art for the next volume! That being the case, I don’t mind replacing it with the sixth volume of Natsume’s Book of Friends. I really enjoy this series, and I’m eager to get to the stories that I haven’t already seen in the anime. Most of all, I want to see Natsume’s relationships develop with his friends and family. I also want to see more of Madara, the cat youkai. He reminds me of my own cat, so I’m a little bit biased toward him as a character.

~

2 responses to “On My Wishlist (#4)

Leave a Reply

