On My Wishlist (#3)

Welcome to another On My Wishlist, a weekly event hosted by Book Chick City where participants list books they want but haven’t yet purchased, whether they be old, new, or upcoming.

This post is going up a little later than usual since I was out of town without much time for writing (which makes me wonder why I didn’t pre-schedule it). But that’s all right, because I’m all set with the next four picks from my wishlist.

Since last week, I’ve ordered the remaining volumes of Fruits Basket. Once they come in the mail, I’ll officially be able to call my collection complete!

Most of the books on my list this week are either newly released or coming soon. I’d better keep my wallet handy!

The Curious Case of the Clockwork Man by Mark Hoddard
The second book of Mark Hoddard’s Burton & Swinburne trilogy is out this month, and I’m very excited. Since I’m already familiar with the major players, I’ll no doubt slip into this story without any difficulty. Plus, the premise of the second book sounds just as exciting as the previous one, if not more so. In The Strange Affair of Spring Heeled Jack, Burton’s working relationship with Swinburne had only just begun; I’m looking forward to finding out how it will progress. And, if the summary of the book is any indication, a few of the villains from the previous novel might be returning as well. I can’t wait!

Resurrection Code by Lyda Morehouse
I’ve been a devoted fan of Lyda Morehouse’s AngeLINK universe since reading her first book in 2001, so you can imagine how I’m bubbling with giddiness over this new prequel. March 15th can’t get here fast enough! Since Mouse has always been my second favorite character from this series (Morningstar being the first), I’m positively gleeful that this novel will focus on how he became the character I know and love from the main series. It will also offer a glimpse into the world-that-was—something that I’ve been curious about for a long time. Fun fact: Lyda Morehouse’s third book, Messiah Node, was my first-ever author-provided ARC.

The Alchemist in the Shadows by Pierre Pevel
To be honest, I just heard today that this book was being released next month. I had no idea it was coming out so soon. Since I have a copy of The Cardinal’s Blades sitting in my to-read pile, it’s only natural that I plan to pick this one up as soon as it hits the stores. It will be nice to have the continuation of the story handy right away, and I have no doubt that I’ll want to jump straight from the one to the other. On a purely aesthetic note, I can’t help myself when it comes to Pyr’s cover art (as usual). I loved the cover of The Cardinal’s Blades, but I may love this one even more.

Black Butler by Yana Toboso
Not that I need to start another manga series—and I won’t until I get several of my current ones out of the way—but I’ve heard good things about Black Butler, and I’m very interested in getting the first few volumes. I watched episodes one through four of the anime’s first season on Hulu, but from what I’ve been told, the manga far surpasses the animation (which is usually the case, so I’m not surprised). I’d love to get my hands on another good manga. Aside from the ones I’m currently following, it’s hard for me to tell what I will and won’t like. There are just so many.

~

Leave a Reply

