On My Wishlist (#2)

Welcome to another On My Wishlist, a weekly event hosted by Book Chick City where participants list books they want but haven’t yet purchased, whether they be old, new, or upcoming.

Since my last OMW post, I’ve purchased one of the books that was on my list: The Fallen Blade by Jon Courtenay Grimwood. I haven’t started it yet, but what I skimmed of the first couple pages looks interesting so far!

But let’s see what’s on my wishlist for this week.

India Black by Carol K. Carr
I saw this book in Borders while browsing with my sister. It had one of those covers that tends to catch my eye, so I decided to take a look. When I read the back, I laughed–it’s a mystery/spy novel featuring a brothel madam as the main character. Well, it didn’t take much more than that to convince me that I wanted to read it. I almost bought it that very night, but common sense prevailed (sadly), and I decided that I should wait until a few of my other reading assignments were over. It’s still at the top of my list to buy as soon as I wade through the rather thick pile I have at my feet, or on a day when I simply feel like spending money.

Fruits Basket, vols. 18-22 by Natsuki Takaya
A few days ago I finally finished reading the Fruits Basket series. I started it ages ago when it first came out, but for whatever reason I never got past volume sixteen. As with Tsubasa, I decided to restart the series at volume one and go all the way to the end. Since my local library is unexpectedly manga-friendly, I was able to borrow books eighteen through twenty-two. However, having finished the series has only impressed upon me the need to go buy the five volumes missing from my collection. It’s just one of the series that I must have, like Monster and Pet Shop of Horrors. I’m sure I’ll pick these up gradually over the next couple of weeks.

The Belly Dancer by DeAnna Cameron
The trouble with books that don’t fall into the SF/F genre is that I tend to forget about them. The Belly Dancer was on my to-buy list before it released in 2009, and though I was very interested in reading it, there were a dozen other books on that list which I felt needed to be read sooner rather than later. But I’m still very interested in this book, particularly since it takes place during the Chicago World’s Fair in 1893–the same setting as Erik Larson’s The Devil in the White City (not that the plot is in any way related. I just like the era). I’m not quite certain whether this book falls under general fiction or romance, but I’m not concerned either way. I’ll be happy to read it when it finally comes into my possession, and hopefully it will prove to be very good. (By the way, isn’t the cover lovely?)

Hiroshige: One Hundred Famous Views of Edo by Melanie Treade & Lorenz Bichler
This book is a 30th anniversary reprint of the original Taschen book with this name. I came across it last November at Books-a-Million and was quite taken with it. It’s a beautiful edition of Hiroshige’s prints. The cover and the interior pages are quality and absolutely gorgeous–not your average print collection. The images are bright, too, which I love. I see too many illustration compilations with poor images. This one, however, is incredible, and I really must purchase it before it goes out of print.

~

Leave a Reply

