Book Get! #6: Happy Birthday to Me (3 Titles)

Thought I’d forgotten about the Book Get! posts, didn’t you? Well, I haven’t. With as many books as I buy on a regular basis, however, keeping up with them was a whole other matter….

But my birthday was a few weeks ago (in late November, if you must know), and contrary to common experience, I received a few books as gifts.

I’ve occasionally said (not here, but elsewhere), that one of the best gifts someone can give me is a book that he or she has found entertaining or inspiring. Regardless of whether or not I personally end up liking the book, I still feel as though that person has shared something special with me, and it gives me a clearer glimpse into their personality.

Well, one of my friends did that very thing this year. Up until now, I’ve been making suggestions in the SF/F genre to him, since he was looking for something a little outside his normal purview. But for my birthday, he decided to share a recent favorite of his own. Thus, I now have a copy of Rant by Chuck Palahniuk, and I’m very excited to read it! I haven’t yet read a Palahniuk book, though I do have a copy of Invisible Monsters lurking somewhere on the trade paperback section of my shelf. I don’t have a clue what to expect, but I’ve heard some crazy things about Palahniuk books over the years (yes, aside from Fight Club), so I’m bracing myself for this one.

The second book was one I requested of my BFF–since we don’t presently live near one another, she’d be hard-pressed to take a guess at what I already own (and with good reason), so I gladly took the mystery out of it and asked for book one of Vampire Empire, The Greyfriar by Clay and Susan Griffith. This book has been on my radar since last year, when I first started taking note of the Pyr logo as it turned up on every book I touched at the bookstore. It’s killing me not to Read It Right Now, especially since I’ve seen nothing but excellent reviews about it since it came out. Once this week is over, however, I’ll be cleared of all (well, most) of my pressing obligations and free to read it whenever I like for however long I like. And that will be excellent.

Finally, I welcome the mass market edition of Corambis into my rather ridiculous collection of Sarah Monette’s Doctrine of Labyrinths series. Oh, wait, perhaps I should explain that. Well, it happens that I own all four of the DoL books in every possible format. I have a full set of hardbacks, a full set of electronic books, and now a full set of mass market editions. Corambis was the only book missing, and one of my newer friends–one to whom I had lent the first three of Monette’s books, in fact–wisely decided that my collection needed to be complete. You wouldn’t think that I’d get overly excited about a book I have two copies of and have already read…but you’d be wrong.

~

Leave a Reply

