The Native Star by M.K. Hobson – external review

THE NATIVE STAR by M.K. Hobson
Spectra, 2010, 978-0-553-59265-8, 387 pages, Mass Market Paperback, $8.99

Genre: Fantasy

My new review for BSCreview has gone up: The Native Star by M.K. Hobson.

And now, let me tell you how much I loved this book. Let me tell you how awesome it was.

It was so awesome, and I loved it so much, that I ceased all other activities to read it, and I didn’t even mean to. Somehow, once I’d gotten past the prologue, it was like some kind of external power guiding me to finish the whole thing as quickly as possible. Homework? What’s that? Work? Nobody cares if I read at my desk (well, at least they didn’t that day). On the bus? At a restaurant? Instead of sleeping?

I literally could not stop reading The Native Star. And by the end? I’m still thinking about it. That’s the mark of a story and a set of characters that I’ll want to read about again. Thank goodness M.K. Hobson is putting out a second novel (The Hidden Goddess in May 2011–mark your calendars). I don’t know what I’d do if it were otherwise.

Have I built it up too much? I guess we’ll see. Now go read the review! Or better yet, just go read the book.

Thank you to Boomtron and Spectra for providing a review copy of this novel.

~

Leave a Reply

