Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett – response

GOOD OMENS by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett
Ace, 1996, 367 pages, 0-441-00325-7, Mass Market Paperback, $6.99

Genre: Fantasy/Comedy

As far as this particular book goes, well, I can finally, FINALLY (and happily!) say that I’ve read Good Omens. The only question you should be asking (because I’m certainly asking myself) is — what took you so long?

I purchased Good Omens back when it was first released in the States. It’s been sitting on my shelf for what…fourteen years? Yeah, that’s right–I’ve got the old school cover, too.

My god. I was a sophomore in high school back then. Er. . .let’s not talk about that.

Of course, since I’m a chronic book buyer, I ended up purchasing far more books after Good Omens, which caused it to get lost in the shuffle. Lately, though, I’ve been trying to dust off a few of my older, unread titles in order to give them some much-awaited attention.

Since this is a mini-view, I’m not going to go crazy with plot summaries and the like. Basically, I’m working off the assumption that everyone but me has already read this book (not true, but it ought to be).

Good Omens was fabulous in the way that only a couple of snarky British writers could make it fabulous. If you like this brand of humor (and why wouldn’t you?), you won’t be able to get through a chapter of this book without laughing so hard you cry. Honestly, I begin to wonder if the reason why I took so long to get through this novel was that I never wanted it to end. It always guaranteed hilarity, no matter what time of day.

Easily, my favorite bits of the book included Crowley and Aziraphale. Crowley is fantastically awful but not quite evil, if you know what I mean. Meanwhile, Aziraphale is an angel in a bookshop. I think from here on out I should start taking notes about angels in bookshops. Maybe set up a convention. So far the only two in attendance are Aziraphale and Lyda Morehouse’s Morningstar (who no doubt got his ticket through sheer force of personality—and probably for free).

There’s a lot about this book that you’ll enjoy, especially if you like clever humor. And ducks. Oh, I loved the ducks.

I tend to recommend it to people who’ve read and enjoyed The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. The humor strikes me as similar, though the subject is different.

I think my only remaining question, after reading this book is, what happened with Hastur? I was sure he was going to come after Crowley again in the end. Either I missed it, or that wasn’t quite wrapped up.

~

2 responses to “Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett – response

  1. I think the premise of this book gets it on just about everybody’s shelf. Finishing it is another thing, and not because of it’s quality (I really liked it, too) but because for a comic novel, the thing is fairly brick-like.

    It’s disappointing to read about the movie adaptation attempts that never panned out. And they once talked up a written sequel, which was apparently going to have been titled, to my everlasting joy, “668: Neighbor of the Beast”…

  2. Yes, I’ve read about the movie adaptions and the once-upon-a-time sequel as well. I’m sorry they never managed to come about. I’m trying to imagine a Good Omens film, though, and I’m wondering exactly how they’d pull it off.

Leave a Reply

