Pyr Announces Fall/Winter Titles

Nothing will prevent a person from keeping up with the things she loves like university courses. And to think that I imagined a second degree would be a good idea. Time will tell. . . .

Needless to say, trying to read the books that I want to review is problematic when it’s coming up against the requirement to read whole books on the history of rhetoric and visual rhetoric and every other kind of rhetoric you can think of. And then there was that issues in publishing course which, while incredibly fun, assigned rather detailed projects like creating a magazine prospectus and putting together a publisher’s seasonal catalog.

Yet the prospect of having even more troublesome classes next semester does nothing to diminish my delight over the announcement of Pyr’s Fall/Winter releases for 2010-2011. I’m going to be a very, very busy reader during the fall, and not just because I’ll be taking Japanese I.

Not only are two books that I’d previously heard about finally getting released—Vampire Empire: The Greyfriar, Book 1 and The Buntline Special—but so are a slew of other books that sound absolutely fantastic. I’ll admit, I had to stop myself from printing out the entire post and organizing what I want to read using multi-colored highlighters.

I’m sure by now that most of my friends know that I intend to read through the majority of the Pyr catalog despite what my university classes may require of me. But Pyr makes it so very easy to want to. As it is, I’ve only been delaying my purchase of Ghosts of Manhattan because I needed to wait until payday. But payday is today. . . so I expect you’ll know where to find me later.

On the listing for the upcoming season, I’m especially looking forward to The Cardinal’s Blades and The Scar-Crow Men (I’m a sucker for period settings and historical characters, what can I say?), The Strange Affair of Spring Heeled Jack, The Horns of Ruin, Tome of the Undergates, Legends of the Raven, Cowboy Angels, and the Aleksei Ivanovich Danilov books. And, of course, The Greyfriar and The Buntline Special.

And if you think that I’ve just named everything on the list, you’d almost be right. As for the rest, I simply haven’t read the first ones in the series yet . . . but I’ll get there.

With intriguing new titles from our friends at Pyr, it’s going to be a great season.

~

One response to “Pyr Announces Fall/Winter Titles

  1. Pingback: The Reader Eclectic » [Review] Spring Heeled Jack (Mark Hodder)·

Leave a Reply

