Ōoku, vols. 1 & 2 by Fumi Yoshinaga – external review

ŌOKU, vols. 1 & 2 by Fumi Yoshinaga
Viz Media, 2009, 205 pages, 978-1-4215-2747-5, Paperback, $12.99
Viz Media, 2009, 235 pages, 978-1-4215-2748-2, Paperback, $12.99

Genre: Alternate History/Historical Fiction/Manga

I have yet to mention this here on TRE, but I was recently asked to join the review team over at BSCreview. I’m quite excited about this, as you can well imagine, and I’ll be dedicating some of my reading and review time to my contributions there.

For my first submission, I have reviewed volumes one and two of Ōoku by Fumi Yoshinaga (manga-ka of Antique Bakery). It’s a great manga so far, and I’m marking my calendar for the next two volumes that will be coming out this year.

Keep your eye out for my next BSCreview contribution, which should be coming along very soon. In the meantime, go visit the site if you never have before. It’s full of great material on books, comics, television, and movies, among other things.

~

2 responses to “Ōoku, vols. 1 & 2 by Fumi Yoshinaga – external review

    • I also tripped over the style of language at first. I understand why they chose to use it, of course, but it took about a quarter of volume one before I fell into the rhythm. I guess it could be worse…it could have been Middle English. That would have been ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

