Book Get! #2: Order Fail is Annoying but Not Surprising (1 Title)

BONESHAKER by Cherie Priest
Tor, 2009, 416 pages, 978-0-7653-1841-1, Trade Paperback, $15.99boneshaker100

I’m convinced that my present schedule–which is out of control and obstructs me from updating as much as I would like–has caused some kind of short circuit in my brain that prevents me from performing basic operations and from remembering things in general. My recent Amazon.com order is an example of this.

Two days ago, I decided to order several books that I’ve had my eye on (which will be discussed further once I actually have these books in my possession); among them was Boneshaker, which I’ve been reading wonderful reviews about for the last week. Therefore, you can imagine my surprise when I received the “your order has shipped” notice only to discover that I never actually put Boneshaker in my cart.

After staring at the screen for about five minutes in complete consternation, I decided that something had to be done about this error as quickly as possible.

Of course the bookstore that I would normally turn to in this kind of situation has become utterly useless to me. Over the last few months, Borders has been focusing more on its sales numbers and less on its selection. I wasn’t particularly surprised to discover that Boneshaker was only available online through this vendor. Thus, my initial search yielded nothing.

So I crossed my fingers and, despite not having much faith that I would find a copy locally on the day of its release, I checked the inventory for Barnes & Noble.

Lo and behold–in a matter of moments Barnes & Noble re-established itself as my reliable ally.

I was able to find three copies of Boneshaker at the local B&N, which more than satisfied me–not only because it was in stock, but also because it was on the shelf on the day it was supposed to be on the shelf. This is rarely ever the case with Borders, nowadays, unless the book is something well-known and serial, like the Dresden Files.

Additionally, I discovered that Barnes & Noble had all of the Haikasoru titles in stock. This was incredibly surprising to me; my little section of Florida isn’t exactly known for its variety of selection when it comes to books, movies, or…well…anything else.

So, with Boneshaker in hand, as well as an adorable birdy notebook and a pencil case with what looks to be Japanese dolls on the front (both for 50% off, I should mention), I managed to leave the store happily with my order error satisfactorily corrected.

Finally, those interested in Boneshaker might like to take a look at Cherie Priest’s interview at The Mad Hatter’s Bookshelf blog, which was posted earlier today.

~

Leave a Reply

