Book Get! #1: Unexpected Manga Day (1 Title)

PLUTO, vol. 5 by Naoki Urasawa
Viz Media, 2009, 194 pages, 978-1-4215-2583-9, Paperback, $12.99pluto5

Book Get! is a new category for listing recent book acquisitions. Had I been doing this back when TRE was getting its most recent facelift, the Book Get! posts might be competing with my reviews for supremacy.

Today I’ll only be posting one acquisition despite how tempting it is to start with the order I received on Monday (then I’d have eight or nine things to include).

This afternoon I picked up a copy of Naoki Urasawa’s Pluto, vol. 5. It’s sheer coincidence that I even knew it was available; had I not been browsing blogs all last night and this morning, I wouldn’t have discovered that the release date was last Tuesday.

This one took some hunting to locate in the store, however. My local Borders is notorious for not having books out by their due dates (thank goodness I didn’t go looking for it last week–I would have been quite miffed to discover that it was still in a box somewhere), and fairly often I have to search the store for carts with the new releases that haven’t been stocked yet.

I had to do that today, though a very nice employee did try to help me. He even went into the back room and searched the manga boxes in an attempt to locate it for me. He didn’t find it, but that’s because it was already on a cart. I found it a few minutes after thanking him and letting him move on to a different customer.

I’m definitely looking forward to reading Pluto, vol. 5. I only finished volumes 3 and 4 a couple of weeks ago, for that matter, so the story is still fresh in my mind. I’ve had an introductory post about it in the works since June, so maybe I’ll finally get that finished. Sometimes it’s just difficult to know what to say about something when you really like it.

~

One response to “Book Get! #1: Unexpected Manga Day (1 Title)

Leave a Reply

